Rani's journey will speak to anyone who's ever had to fight to uphold their cultural identity--one stereotype at a time.

Rani's journey will speak to anyone who's ever had to fight to uphold their cultural identity--one stereotype at a time.

Fans of Sandhya Menon, Erika Sanchez and Jandy Nelson will identify with this award-winning novel of a young artist’s forbidden, intercultural first love, her close-knit Indian family, and her boyfriend's desperate attempts to fit into it--no matter the cost.

Rani Kelkar has never lied to her parents, until she meets Oliver. The same qualities that draw her in—his tattoos, his charisma, his passion for art—make him her mother's worst nightmare.

They begin a torrid, secret love affair, but when Oliver's troubled home life unravels, he starts to ask more of Rani than she knows how to give. Just when their relationship is tested by a shocking betrayal, a family tragedy draws Rani to India for a summer. There, she gains perspective on what it means to be true to herself and what that means for her and Oliver.

Winner of the national Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators Emerging Voices award, Anuradha Rajurkar takes an honest look at how cultural differences can transmute an interracial relationship into something unrecognizable as love. Rani's journey will speak to anyone who's ever had to fight to uphold their cultural identity--one stereotype at a time.

Read more

Insider Secrets to Publishing Your First Novel

Insider Secrets to Publishing Your First Novel

SCBWI Success Story: An Interview with Anuradha Rajurkar

SCBWI Success Story: An Interview with Anuradha Rajurkar

Interview with Adiba Jaigirdar, #Roaring20sdebut Author of THE HENNA WARS

Interview with Adiba Jaigirdar, #Roaring20sdebut Author of THE HENNA WARS

Comments

Manish March 11 2021

Got this WhatsApp message from Deepak and curiosity sent me to the YouTube link. The video wasn’t particularly inspiring, what with the garbled audio, but the subject seemed interesting.
I surely would be taking much of my culture for granted, how does it look from the outside? How would someone unlikely to judge but still outside of it see it? So I went to Amazon (India) to pick up a Kindle copy. Was disappointed to see it not available. Came to this site and read up the intro. Got even more intrigued. I do hope you are putting the book up on Amazon (India) in Kindle format. Congrats and All The Best!